Australia’s most sustainable building for 2012

by FM Media
0 comment

Melbourne’s Royal Children’s Hospital has been crowned Australia’s most sustainable building for 2012.

The Royal Children’s Hospital has achieved top honours at this year’s BPN (Building Products News) Sustainability Awards. Billard Leece Partnership and Bates Smart Architects won the Best of the Best Award for the new children’s hospital in Parkville, Melbourne.
Designers Billard Leece Partnership and Bates Smart Architects were recognised for achieving unprecedented levels of sustainability throughout all aspects of this major healthcare project. The judges praised the holistic and thoughtful approach the architects took in addressing the high degree of difficulty and complexity in the New Royal Children’s Hospital design.
“The implications of the design success at the New Royal Children’s Hospital are major, because, if this level of sustainability can be achieved in such a large and complex healthcare design project, then the rest that follow will have no excuse for failure,” the judges commented.
Other winners include:

  • Large Commercial: Darling Quarter submitted by Francis-Jones Morehen Thorp (fjmt)
  • Public Building & Urban Design: The New Royal Children’s Hospital, Parkville submitted by Billard Leece Partnership and Bates Smart Architects (BLBS)
  • Innovation of the Year: TankPro
  • Multi – Density Residential: 58 Stevens Street submitted by Officer Woods Architects
  • Office Fitout: GPT Building submitted by Woods Bagot
  • Landscape Design: Clifton Hill Rail Project submitted by Jeavons Landscape Architects
  • Single Dwelling (New): Marion House by Positive Footprints
  • Single Dwelling (Alterations and Extensions): House Reduction submitted by MAKE architecture
  • Small Commercial: The National Hotel by Breathe Architecture

The 2012 Sustainability Awards winners were announced at a gala dinner in Sydney on November 8 2012 at Doltone House on Darling Island Wharf-Pyrmont. The Sustainability Awards recognises the pinnacle of sustainable building practice in Australia.
The 2012 awards jury included Dick Clarke, director of sustainable building consultancy Envirotecture; Jane Toner from ESD consultancy Sustainable Built Environments (SBE) and Kerryn Wilmot from the University of Technology, Sydney’s (UTS) Institute for Sustainable Futures.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More