Premier’s Sustainability Awards 2018

by Tiffany Paczek
0 comment

The Victorian Premier’s Sustainability Awards recognise individuals, communities, organisations and businesses that are leading the way to a sustainable future. Entries for the 2018 awards have now been officially opened.

The Premier’s Sustainability Awards, now in its 16th year, continue to grow and reflect the action that is happening across industry, business and community from regional to metropolitan Victoria.

Sustainability Victoria, the Victorian Government and the Premier of Victoria, Daniel Andrews are proud to recognise and reward Victorians who are leading the way in sustainable innovation and practices across all sectors within Victoria.

The Minister for Energy, Environment and Climate Change Lily D’Ambrosio says, “The Premier’s Sustainability Awards is an opportunity to recognise Victorians who are leading the way in sustainable practices across all sectors.

“We know that more and more Victorian businesses, not-for-profit organisations, community groups and government programs are implementing sustainable practices.”

The Premier’s Sustainability Awards offers 10 award categories to enter in 2018. The categories are:

  • Built environment
  • Community
  • Education
  • Environmental justice
  • Environmental protection
  • Government
  • Health
  • Innovative products or services
  • Small and medium enterprises
  • Large business.

Entries in 2017 included a small business that uses new technology to clean without chemicals, a unique program that recycles discarded hotel soap for use in disadvantaged communities, a new type of residential development that uses less energy, and a program that is rebuilding Port Phillip Bay’s long-lost oyster reefs.

In addition to the award categories, finalists are eligible to be selected for the two overall awards – the Premier’s Recognition Awards, as chosen by the Hon Daniel Andrews, Premier of Victoria.

Premier’s Recognition Award

This award is made to one of the winners of the award categories which, in the Premier’s opinion, showcases exemplary innovation in sustainability, and has shown particular leadership and determination in overcoming obstacles. In 2017, eWater Systems took out this award.

Premier’s Regional Recognition Award

This award is made to one of the regional finalists of the award categories which, in the Premier’s opinion, has demonstrated notable sustainability benefits for regional Victoria. In 2017, the Exemplar Health Partnership – New Bendigo Hospital took out this award.

“Many Victorian organisations are nation leading in their sustainable practices and I encourage them to enter the Premier’s Sustainability Awards this year to inspire others to think more creatively about the work that they do,” D’Ambrosio says.

The 2018 Premier’s Sustainability Awards will be held on Thursday 11 October 2018 in Melbourne. Entries are open now. For more information go to

Image: Le Moal Olivier ©

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More